Written bits and pieces

Pomorek

30 December 2022
My writing urges can be quite annoying. As I've been saying in other places, I get detailed ideas for single scenes but have greatest trouble with stringing them together into any sort of coherent plot. Yet, I shall finally try to get them out of my head at least, and post for everyone to see. Here's an opening part of a (potential) story, grown out of the "200 words challenge" on the old FA forum. There should be more.

Part 1

• Love
Reactions: Wuff-Wuff
Oh I love how you've written the old caring tigress, Miss Rosa! Not to mention the way you flesh out the surroundings with descriptive words.

The only thing I've noticed are some grammatical errors, for instance "single" is more an adjective than a noun. So you'd probably want to add "as a single hyena" or something like that to complete the sentence :3 but I'm no expert there myself.

Also I feel like concepts like the "Black Sun" ritual could be elaborated more on :3 you go into great detail in accordance to "Elsa with a swan", but then introduce concepts that feel "just there" without further explanation, kind of like the reader should already know what they are. I think their role in the world could be expanded on or, if they are something that will become clearer later on, maybe introduced in a more vague and mysterious manner to awoke intriguing thoughts such as: "Why is Twig drumming and why does Wanda pay no interest? Hmm, strange, maybe we'll find out more later about this, it could be a ritual..."

I feel like this is however due to the fact that you're only supposed to use 200 words.

Anyway :3 you've got some great things going on there Pomorek! The characters feel very distinct from eachother for example and the world they inhabit has clearly quite interesting laws one could expand on during worldbuilding! Keep it up!

Reactions: Pomorek